REGISTRATION

Registration for a car is based on its age. (Full year registration for a 2007 car is $60.80; full year registration for a 2004, 2005 or 2006 car is $52.80; full year registration for a 2003 or older car is $42.80.) Truck and motor home registration is based on the fully loaded weight of the vehicle. In addition, Coryell County charges an $10.00 local fee on the registration of all vehicles except farm vehicles. This fee is set by the Commissioners Court and is used to pay for maintenance and improvements of county roads.

Your motor vehicle registration expires after the fifth WORKING day after the end of the month listed on your registration receipt.If you are apprehended (given a citation) for driving with expired registration, you will be charged a penalty of 20% of the state registration fee (minus the $.30 annual reflectorization fee) in addition to being required to pay for the time your vehicle was not registered. In all other cases your registration fee will be a full year’s fee (without penalty) and based on your response to the question: “Why is this vehicle not currently registered?” It will either be the original year, including the months your vehicle has not been registered OR will be for twelve months beginning with the month of your registration renewal.

Each time you register your vehicle or renew the registration for your vehicle, you are required to provide proof that the vehicle meets requirements of Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act. The Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act provides that no motor vehicle may be operated in the State of Texas unless Liability Insurance coverage for the vehicle is at least the minimum amounts indicated below remains in effect to insure against potential losses:

1. $25,000.00 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any accident,
2. $50,000.00 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to limit of $20,000.00 for one person, and
3. $25,000.00 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.

This provision does not apply to motor vehicles which are exempt from the insurance requirement of this Act.